Home > New Album > John Pizzarelli…Rockin’ In Rhythm

John Pizzarelli…Rockin’ In Rhythm

I came in this evening from a long day at the job and checked the mail and surprize! A new album had arrived from the Telarc label. John Pizzarelli’s Rockin’ In Rhythm, A Tribute to Duke Ellington. Well I was excited to discover this artist and his new album, especially his take on one of the jazz’s greats “The Duke”. As I loaded the CD in the tray and pressed “Play” I was exported back to a time lost to us with this music, but with a lively freshness to the tunes. The album name really says it all, Mr. Pizzarelli’s voice rockin and croonin’ along with a very nice band. And the band, WOW,  the Swing Seven open the set with (In A Mellow Mood), (East St. Louis Toodle-Oo) and (Don’t Get Around Much Anymore), all Ellington classics and I have to say this band has such a nice swing to it, a very tight group. There is a beautiful solo (Just Squeeze me) that highlight Pizzarelli’s great guitar style. Four tracks that feature his quartet, Larry Fuller piano, Martin Pizzarelli (brother) bass, and Tony Tedesco drums. I absolutely loved (Satin Doll) with a guitar solo by John’s father Bucky, this one I think is my favorite. Another HOT track (C-Jam Blues) really rocks with Aaron Weinstein on violin and saxophonist Harry Allen, and while John solo’s on guitar, he can be heard “Scattin” in the background, a nice touch. Mr. Pizzarelli’s (In My Solitude) performance on this album is superb and comes at just the right time, slowing things down a bit.  A Lambert, Hendricks and Ross moment takes place on the (Lost/Perdido) track with Pizzarelli, Kurt Elling and Jessica Molaskey, this one brings back memories. I noticed I was smiling and then it struck me, this album is full of smiles and happiness, all orchestrated by John Pizzarelli. It’s nice when music can have this effect on you when you least expect it, it changes your mood. and before you know it I had forgot about that long day I’d had. John Pizzarelli’s Rockin In Rhythm is one of the best Duke Ellington tributes I have heard. Thank you  Mr. Pizzarelli, your music just made my day. Discover and Enjoy.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

